Press Releases - NAWE Welcomes Maritime Industry Leaders to Board of Directors

NAWE Welcomes Maritime Industry Leaders to Board of Directors (PDF Version)

Board Executives to Further the Interests of Waterfront Workers

WASHINGTON, DC (March 7, 2023) – The National Association of Waterfront Employers (NAWE) recently elected Board leadership. The following five individuals will serve as Board executives: Tom Saunders, Ports America; Hernán F. Ayala Rubio, Luis A. Ayala Colón Sucrs. Inc.; Dan Mulligan, Global Container Terminals, USA; Ed McCarthy, Georgia Ports Authority; and Mark Johnson, SSA Marine.

NAWE’s executive Board members bring extensive maritime and supply chain knowledge. This expertise is instrumental in furthering NAWE’s advocacy for waterfront employers as they promote and contribute to a robust economy and facilitate the efficient movement of goods.

The Board executives will serve in the following capacities:

    • Chairman: Tom Saunders, director of government affairs at Ports America. Saunders previously served as vice chair for the NAWE Board.
    • Vice chair-person: Hernán F. Ayala Rubio, executive vice president at Luis A. Ayala Colón Sucrs. Inc.
    • Treasurer: Dan Mulligan, director of sales and marketing at Global Container Terminals, USA.
    • Secretary: Ed McCarthy, chief operating officer at Georgia Ports Authority.
    • At-large member: Mark Johnson, vice president of government affairs and business development at SSA Marine.

“I am honored to lead NAWE as its new chairman,” said Tom Saunders, director of government affairs at Ports America. “For nearly a half-century, NAWE’s top priority has been and will remain the health and safety of America’s dedicated waterfront workers. Building off the successes of NAWE’s previous board chairs, our members will continue to educate lawmakers and regulators in Washington, D.C., on the critical link NAWE’s members play in the supply chain. We will advocate for policies to ensure the efficient movement of freight and supply chain fluidity.”

The NAWE Board consists of 17 members, including five executive Board members. It directs and implements NAWE initiatives and offers counsel and viewpoints based on members’ professional experiences. Each executive Board member will serve a two-year term.

“Our Board members serve as a vital asset to advocate for marine cargo efficiency, safety and economic growth for MTOs and the stevedoring industry,” said Robert Murray, president of NAWE. “With their diverse range of experience, these Board executives will ensure NAWE continues to impact the maritime industry significantly.”

NAWE bases its commitment to supporting the maritime industry on five main objectives. These include moving toward near-zero-emissions to improve resiliency, modernizing the supply chain infrastructure, enhancing terminal security and sustainability and advocating for the improved safety of waterfront workers.

For a complete list of NAWE Board members, please visit:


About NAWE

The National Association of Waterfront Employers is a Washington based trade association whose member companies are privately owned stevedores, marine terminal operators, and other waterfront related employers. Member companies do business at major U.S Ports on the Atlantic and Pacific coast, the Gulf of Mexico, the Great Lakes, Canada, and the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico. These firms are committed to keeping America’s international trade and commerce flowing to better serve our economy. Learn more on our website:

NAWE Media Contact

Megan Nielson
Communiqué PR
[email protected]
206-282-4923 ext. 233

NAWE © All Rights Reserved.2024

Powered by Templatation